Cornell University

Validation of Nonthermal Technologies Symposium

Tuesday, October 31, 2017 at 8:00am

Stocking Hall

This symposium will address critical issues related to the validation of nonthermal processing methods used for controlling pathogens in foods and ensuring compliance with regulatory requirements, such as those set by the Food Safety Modernization Act. Internationally leading experts from the US and from around the world—including representatives of US regulatory agencies and of the food industry—will discuss best practices and challenges related to the validation and adoption of nonthermal technologies for microbial inactivation. The symposium was made possible by a grant from the United States Department of Agriculture and contributions from the Department of Food Science at Cornell University, the Cornell Institute for Food Systems Industry Partnership Program, and the NYS Association for Food Protection. The symposium has the support of the Nonthermal Processing Division of the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) and the European Federation of Food Science and Technology (EFFoST).

Topics that will be covered:

  • Overview of nonthermal processing methods for microbial inactivation: high pressure processing, pulsed electric field, high pressure homogenization, light-based treatments (UV, pulsed light), cold plasma, irradiation
  • Mechanisms of inactivation of different types of microorganisms by nonthermal methods
  • Critical issues for the adoption of novel processing methods for microbial inactivation to ensure compliance with FSMA
  • Validation of nonthermal processing methods: regulatory requirements and best practices
  • Round table discussion on validation and regulatory aspects of nonthermal involving academic researchers, industry and regulatory representatives
  • Visit of the Cornell Food Science facilities and demonstration of various nonthermal technologies: high pressure processing, pulsed electric field, membrane filtration (microfiltration, ultrafiltration, reverse osmosis, forward osmosis), supercritical CO2, UV, pulsed light, LED light

International Scientific Committee

Dr. Nathan Anderson, US-FDA
Dr. Lilia Ahrné, Professor, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, EFFoST President
Dr. Bala Balasubramaniam, The Ohio State University
Dr. Gustavo Barbosa-Canovas, Washington State University
Dr. Roman Buckow, CSIRO, Australia
Dr. Michael Gänzle, University of Alberta, Canada
Dr. Olga Martin Belloso, University of Lleida, Spain, EFFoST representative
Dr. Carmen I. Moraru, Cornell University
Dr. Olga I. Padilla-Zakour, Cornell University
Dr. Jason Wan, Illinois Institute of Technology, Past Chair of NPD-IFT
Dr. Randy W. Worobo, Cornell University

Event Type



Food Science


foodsci, ipp, ifs


Contact E-Mail

Contact Name

Janette Robbins

Contact Phone


Registration Status


Open To

Registered Attendees Only

Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity

Event Registration Required

This event requires registration.